Zodiac Sign
Sanskrit or Vedic Name : Karkata
Key Traits : Emotional, Intuitive, Caring, Protective, Loyal
Deepest Desire : Create a safe, cosy and nurturing home environment
Noteworthy Qualities : Sensitive, Enigmatic, Charming, Empathetic, Ambitious, Generous, Kind, Lovable, Outgoing, Resilient
The motto for Life : I feel

Cancerians are private about their space and like to use their crab shell to retreat and relax to recharge. Cancerians are domestic, nurturing creatures, and they leave that same spirit wherever they go. However, their irritable nature makes them overly emotional or moody.

Cancer is the fourth astrological sign in the zodiac chakra, originating from the Nakshatra of Cancer. It extends from 90° degrees to 120° degrees celestial longitude. Under the tropical zodiac chakra, the Sun transits this region approximately between June 22 and July 22.

With strong empathic powers and healing talents, Cancerians can feel the needs and wants of those around them even before they express themselves! The life of love the person leads them toward sensuality, sentimentality, and an appreciation of the easy pleasures of life.

They are sweet, kind, always charming, and capable of cracking jokes with their offbeat or goofy sense of humor. This gospel is true! Cancer can be trusted in times of crisis when you need a shoulder to cry on! They are the forerunner of the zodiac care, their strength, affectionate emoji-peppered texts, and, heart-melting sayings over steaming mugs of coffee can make you fall in love affairs or relationships all over again!

What is Cancer?

Cancer; Crab. (astrology) One of the twelve signs (is cancer). fire; Fire. Mirror.

The symbol of this zodiac is the crab. People of this zodiac are emotional. Cancerians are determined, highly imaginative, loyal, persuasive, flamboyant, and dramatic. Along with this, they also have the habit of being pessimistic and skeptical.

Meaning of Cancer

C – caring

A – ambitious

N – nourishing

C – Creative

E – emotionally intelligent

R – resilient

Dates for the Cancer: June 21 to July 22

Since summer begins between June 21 and July 22, the Sun enters Cancer, the fourth sign of the zodiac. Here’s a look at how the zodiac is divided into three Decans that comprise a 10-day slot.

1st Decan (June 21- June 30) 2nd Decan (July 1- July 11) 3rd Decan (July 12- July 22)
Planet Moon Pluto Neptune
Traits Tender, Gentle, Virtuous, Sympathetic, Selfless, Strong emotional, sentimental, aggressive, strong-willed Creative, Imaginative, Receptive, Entertaining, Good Taste, Patient

Quick Insight Into Cancer Zodiac Sign

Cancer Zodiac symbol

Cancer Symbol: Crab


Cancer is represented by the crab. The constellation Cancer fits the Greek mythological story of Hercules who battled and killed a giant crab sent by the goddess Hera. The story justifies that the marine crustacean instinctively moves between the sea and its shore. Similarly, Cancer has the ability to survive in both the emotional and physical realms.

Cancer Elements: Water

Cancer forms a water trine, with signs such as Cancer, Pisces, and Scorpio. Water nourishes life, which binds and connects all forms of nature. The water element makes the people of the Cancer zodiac sensible and intuitive. They are able to control their emotions which feels like a giant tidal wave hitting them all at once!

Cancer Elements(Sign)
Cancer Ruling Planet: Moon

Cancer Ruling Planet: Moon

Cancer is ruled by the planet Moon. Stellar symbolizes the spirit and unconscious self in addition to feelings, susceptibility, fertility, memory, and family bonds. Cance people often exhibit a subtle and moody nature with their emotions changing under the influence of the Moon.

Cancer Quality: Cardinal

Cancer is the fourth cardinal sign that coincides with the start of the summer season. Cardinal signs are the initiators or movers and shakers of the zodiac Chakra. They naturally have a distinct tendency to lead as they are in tune with the changing seasons. They always lean in life to get new experiences. Read More About Cardinal Sign

Cancer Quality: Cardinal
Cancer Gemstone

Cancer Gemstone: Pearl/ Moonstone/Moti

The ruling planet of Cancer is Moon. That’s why the people of the Cancer zodiac should wear pearls according to astrology. Pearl is auspicious for this zodiac sign. Moonstone influences the nature, relationships, and financial issues of Cancerians. It gives them peace of headpiece, good soundness, various comforts, and longevity. Wearing a pearl strengthens memory. There is an increase in strength, knowledge, and intelligence. Anger and tension calm down. Beneficial in insomnia, toothache, and urinary tract diseases. The men marry early and the women get along well.

Cancer Rudraksha: 2 Mukhi Rudraksha

Cancer is ruled by the planet Moon, which is the significator of stability. Cancerians do it with every skill. People of this zodiac should wear Two Mukhi Rudraksha to decrease the inauspicious effect of the Moon and bring positivity to life. By wearing this a person gets success in family life and married life.

Cancer Rudraksha
Cancer Ruling House

Cancer House: Four

Cancer is the fourth house at the base of the chart and signifies home and family. Vedic astrology defines it as the foundation of everything which includes lineage, privacy, security, parents, home, and children. The fourth house represents the power of Cancer and reflects its affinity for nurturing, protection, and leadership in bringing people together in family units.

Cancer Nakshatra: Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha

The fourth phase of Punarvasu Nakshatra comes from 0 to 3 degrees for 20 minutes.

The four phases of Pushya Nakshatra come from 3 degrees for 20 minutes to 16 degrees for 40 minutes.

There are four phases of Ashlesha Nakshatra from 16 degrees 40 minutes to 30 degrees.

Cancer Nakshtra
Taurus Colour

Cancer Color: White

White complements Cancer’s intuition. It heightens Cancer’s susceptibility and understanding, allowing love to flow at its deepest level. It calms the mood of these natives and also brings clarity to thoughts. Like the glistening surface of water or the shining moon, white is a symbol of purity and divinity.

Cancer Tarot Card: The Chariot

The Cancer tarot card is symbolized by the Chariot which emphasizes the

combination of the sensitive and determined energies of Cancer. This card depicts a benevolent warrior with great poise and calmness on the battlefield. Sincere, this is an encouraging card, indicating well the determination, courage, and emotional strength of the Cancerian.

Cancer Tarot Card
Cancer Mantra

Cancer Mantra

ॐ ऎं क्लीं श्रीं।

Om Aing Kleeng Shreeng

Cancer Compatibility

Incompatible Matches : Aries, Libra, Aquarius, Sagittarius
Neutral Matches : Capricorn

It is firmly believed that water signs such as Scorpio and Pisces match with the greatest affinity the vulnerability and emotional intelligence of Cancer. There seems to be a psychic, intuitive current running between them that is beyond words. Furthermore, they also mix best with the earth signs of Taurus and Virgo. Of all the signs, the sensitive Cancer may find the volatile and impulsive fire signs of Libra and Aquarius the most difficult to relate to and may need to respect each other’s rhythms over the long run. Although Earth gets along well with Cancer, it may take longer than usual to bond with Capricorn. However, balancing each other’s strengths may be in their favor.

With Compatibility

Compatibility Meter
Your Sign

March 21 - April 19

Partner's Sign

24 April - 01 May

Get Compatibility
Chirag Daruwalla
  • Exclusive
  • 18+ Years
  • English, Hindi

Business, Career, Foreign Travel, Gemstone, Job Marriage, Love, Relationship

Talk to Astrologers

Get the right guidance with 2024 Horoscope Report

Buy Now